Main content

Our research program covers the most important and exciting areas of physics, ranging from the fundamental physical insights into Nature to the development of innovative technology for society.

Research teaser
(Photo: ETH Zurich/D-PHYS Heidi Hostettler)

The Department of Physics hosts five institutes: Astronomy, Particle Physics, Quantum Electronics, Solid State Physics and Theoretical Physics.

Members of the department have access to excellent scientific facilities, including the ETH platforms FIRST (a technology and cleanroom facility for advanced Micro- and Nanotechnology),  ScopeM (Scientific Center for Optical and Electron Microscopy) and the Binnig and Rohrer Nanotechnology Center, and excellent large-scale infrastructure through the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI), the major international centres in high energy physics (CERN, Fermilab and KEK), and the European agencies for astronomical research (ESO and ESA).

The Department of Physics also hosts the two National Competence Centers in Research (NCCR) in the areas of Quantum Science and Technology (QSIT) and Molecular Ultrafast Science and Technology (MUST).

Page URL:
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich