Ursula Keller receives Weizmann Women & Science Award


Ursula Keller, Professor at the Institute for Quantum Electronics, received today one of the two 2017 Weizmann Women & Science Awards "for pioneering and seminal contributions to ultrafast lasers technology and important breakthroughs in attosecond science".

Ursula Keller
Ursula Keller (Photo: ETH Zurich/Tom Kawara)

Ursula Keller has been a tenured professor of physics at ETH Zurich since 1993, where she leads the Ultrafast Laser Physics group. She also serves since 2010 as a director of the National Centre of Competence in Research for Molecular Ultrafast Science and Technology (NCCR MUST).

She received a „Diplom“ at ETH Zurich in 1984, a PhD at Stanford University (USA) in 1989, was a Member of Technical Staff at Bell Labs (USA) from 1989 to 1993. She has been a co-founder and board member for Time-Bandwidth Products and for GigaTera. Her research interests are exploring and pushing the frontiers in ultrafast science and technology. Awards include the OSA Charles H. Townes Award (2015), LIA Arthur L. Schawlow Award (2013), ERC Advanced Grant (2012), EPS Senior Prize (2011), OSA Fraunhofer/Burley Prize (2008), Leibinger Innovation Prize (2004), and Zeiss Research Award (1998).

The second 2017 Weizmann Women & Science Award went to Prof. Naomi Halas (Rice University, USA).

Further information on the website of the Weizmann Institute of Science

The Weizmann Women & Science Award

The Weizmann Women & Science Award is a biennial award established in 1994 that honors an internationally renowned woman scientist who has made significant contributions in their respective fields, as well as to the scientific community in general. The objective of the award is to promote women in science, and to provide a strong role model to motivate and encourage the next generation of young women scientists.

Page URL: https://www.phys.ethz.ch/news-and-events/d-phys-news/2017/06/keller-weizmann-women-and-science-award.html
Sat Jun 24 03:40:46 CEST 2017
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich