The Department

Main content

We pursue a diverse research agenda and a broad teaching program, covering all areas of Physics, from exploring the fundamental principles of Nature to the development of innovative technology for society.

A video tour of our research activities.

The core research and education areas at the Department of Physics are covered by its five institutes:

We provide a comprehensive range of study programmes, which includes a broad three-years Bachelor, a three-semester Master and a Joint Master in High-Energy Physics (in collaboration with the École Polytechnique Paris) programme, as well as continuing-education programmes for teaching certification and in Medical Physics, and various technical apprenticeships (vocational training). Doctoral studies are carried out in individual research groups.

A diverse choice of lecture series and events, including the weekly colloquium (organized jointly with the University of Zurich) and specialised seminars, keep students and faculty up to date with the latest scientific developments in the natural sciences.

Finally, a broad range of services support our academic, technical and administrative staff and students.

Page URL:
Fri Jun 23 08:52:26 CEST 2017
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich